20 Facts to a Score

FACT 17
I hardly sleep.

I can’t fathom the root cause of this. If what scientists say about adequate sleep being tangential to high level of intelligence, I would be a retard.

I humour myself with the thought that I can manage to sleep half as much as most people do and still cope. 

Watching movies late into the night and struggling to finish a particular book robbed me of my sleep. Sometimes 24 hours doesn’t seem to be enough. There is so much to do in so little time. 

Frankly speaking, insomnia is a serious medical condition. There is difficulty staying or falling asleep. Please if you notice disorders in your sleep pattern, it is time to see a therapist. Getting hooked on sedatives is not going to solve the problem.

Inadequate sleep time is related to poor performance in school or at work. It also wreaks havoc on attention span and retentive memory.

As much as I would like to reiterate the recommended 8hour sleep, I also know  the reality for students who think they have to study all night, workers who face heavy traffic while working late shifts, nursing mothers with babies that cry at night, doctors and other health workers who ditch sleep in emergencies and many others in the society.

All I would say is ‘Sleep as much as you can, when you can’.

Leave a Reply

