20 Facts to a Score

FACT 10

I usually walk very fast.

Markets in Lagos are well known for their hustle and bustle. Mother used to take me along whenever she wanted to shop. She walked very fast.  I used to struggle to keep up with her pace and most times ended up being dragged along. Once, my hand slipped from hers and I lost her for some minutes. I was momentarily confused as there were so many people rushing past. I frantically searched for her but I couldn’t find her. I thought I would never get home. I did not call out to her because the market noise was deafening. After three terrifying minutes, the sea of people washed me over to Mother. I saw her worry blend into relief. Angry, she said, “You naughty child! why can’t you hold on to me, ehn?”, while pulling me closer at the same time. Never again did I walk behind her. I had learnt my lesson.

*                     *                       *                       *

I became used to it. When walking in a group, I walk faster than the others can keep up with. It’s like I’m always in a rush. Most times, I want to get somewhere quickly and so I try to avoid wasting too much time trying to get there.

When I  read it in a science journal that walking fast was good for the health, I told all those who used to complain about my walking pace .

Walking briskly for  thirty minutes every day can do a lot for the health. Some of the benefits include :

1. It is an easy exercise.

2. It is a good way to reduce abdominal fat.

3. It reduces the risk of heart disease, cancer, stroke and diabetes

4. It lowers blood pressure.

5. It keeps the body fit.

6. It increases longevity.

7. It is good for mental health.

8. Walking for a mile each day burns approximately 100 calories.

Many of us do not realize the value of walking to our health. It is recommended to drop a bus stop before your house so you can walk the remaining distance. Walk around the house. Don’t sit for hours in front of the TV. To make it fun, take walks in the morning. It would be more enjoyable with a friend or relative, enjoy the scenery and breath in some fresh air. Come on people, let’s walk our way to good health!

Sources: about.com, AARP.com

Leave a Reply

