20 Facts to a Score

FACT 4

I’m bespectacled.

It all started in primary school when I had to move my seat to the front because I couldn’t see the blackboard clearly. I snuggled up close to the TV at home else I wouldn’t enjoy whatever series was ongoing.

All through secondary school,I copied my notes from my friends as the eye problem got worse.You know how it is with Nigerian parents, thinking glasses are meant for old people.

Yet no one understood that I didn’t greet my neighbours when they were too far away for me to recognize them (they all thought I was rude) or when I couldn’t see what was written on a signboard.

My friends gave me nicknames like ‘sick-in-the-eyes’ and ‘blind’. Then I gained admission into the university and had to go through health registration.At the eye test centre, I could barely see beyond the second line.The ophthalmologist told me in a grave tone, “You need a pair of glasses”.

When I got home and informed my parents,there  was nothing else they could say. I got a pair of black-rimmed glasses with blue-tinted lenses that made everything seem like it was morning.

One would think I should have been happy but the glasses destroyed my look. I always seemed serious. Oh and of course I earned a new set of nicknames- ‘FourEyes’, ‘Ojugo’, ‘Geek’, and ‘Nerd’.

Now I wear them only when I have to. So I’ve got two looks – with and without my glasses. Most people don’t even know I can see without them.

I’ve learnt something though, ‘Having myopia doesn’t make me myopic’.

3 thoughts on “20 Facts to a Score”

  1. Nice title for the story of the blind girl. Thumbs up! And about ur last line: what wud u now call those with myopia? Myopion?

Leave a Reply

